Manny Pacquiao to Fight Timothy Bradley on June 9th

By Michael Gluckstadt

Manny Pacquiao vs. Timothy Bradley Press Conference - Photo Credit: Chris Farina - Top RankThe last time Timothy Bradley fought, it was in the shadow of Manny Pacquiao, having his way with Joel Casamayor on the undercard of Pacquiao vs. Juan Manuel Marquez. This time, Bradley will be right in the spotlight as the latest challenger to take down the legendary Filipino fighter. Bradley (28-0, 12 KOs) will enter the ring with an unblemished record and notable victories over Devon Alexander and Lamont Peterson. And he feels like it’s about time.

"I've definitely earned it," Bradley said a New York City press conference. "I worked my whole life for this opportunity and I've seized every moment. I've captured the world championships. I'm a top 10 pound-for-pound fighter. I became the top fighter at 140. What's next?"

Next, is a shot at one of the sport's biggest names. Pacquiao (54-3-2, 38 KOs), who has recently been hinting that he may not have too many fights left in him, is expecting a tough battle from the opponent, who is five years his junior. "I'm sure that it's going to be a good fight because of Tim Bradley's style," he says. "He loves to fight toe to toe and keep coming inside. But my problem is the head butt so we need to watch that. I'm sure we'll keep a good fight. June 9th is going to be historic."

The fight will be held at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, June 9th at 9:00 PM ET/6:00 PM PT. It will be proceeded by four weeks of 24/7 programming beginning May 19th at 9:45 PM ET/ 6:45 PM PT.